Monday, May 23, 2011

Line-up for 16th annual Silent Film Festival announced

The line-up of films for this summer's San Francisco Silent Film Festival has been announced! The event will take place July 14-17 at the historic Castro Theatre in San Francisco. 

The 16th Annual SF Silent Film Festival features eighteen wonderful programs of new discoveries and restorations, with extraordinary live musical accompaniment by top musicians in the field, including Alloy Orchestra, Stephen Horne, Dennis James, the Matti Bye Ensemble, Mont Alto Motion Picture Orchestra, and Donald Sosin. The Festival begins with John Ford's recently found Upstream and concludes with Victor Seastron's He Who Gets Slapped.

Some of the many special guests already set to attend include Academy Award winner Kevin Brownlow, Paolo Cherchi Usai, Leonard Maltin, David Shepard and others. The schedule of films can be found here; there are also links to program notes, musician bios, images and more. Here is the schedule in short.

July 14
7:00 pmUpstream
9:15 pmSunrise
July 15
11:00 amAmazing Tales from
the Archives I
2:00 pmHuckleberry Finn
4:15 pmI Was Born, But…
7:00 pmThe Great White Silence
9:30 pmIl Fuoco
July 16
10:00 amDisney’s Laugh-O-Grams
12:00 noonVariations on a Theme
2:00 pmThe Blizzard
4:00 pmThe Goose Woman
6:30 pmMr. Fix-It
8:30 pmThe Woman Men Yearn For
July 17
10:00 amAmazing Tales from
the Archives II
12 noonShoes
2:00 pmWild and Weird
4:30 pmThe Nail in the Boot
7:30 pmHe Who Gets Slapped

And, as in past years, there will also be a book table (featuring all the new releases and DVDs), author booksingings, special surprises, special guests, and more.Don't miss this year's San Francisco Silent Film Festival.

1 comment:

  1. Short write-up on the Alt Film Guide